That Governor Udom Emmanuel’s List [1] By Osondu Ahirika
November 29, 2016

That Governor Udom Emmanuel’s List [1] By Osondu Ahirika

If you are an ardent follower of World Wrestling Entertainment, WWE, then you will be conversant with the new buzzword- THE LIST.

The “List of Jericho” is one of the many, many things Chris Jericho has made popular in the WWE in 2016. Each, episode, he deletes or adds a name to his now famous list.

In Akwa Ibom state, that’s where we are. After all the reggae, came the blues. Finally, the most anticipated list in the anals of Akwa Ibom politics, came to light. Governor Udom Gabriel Emmanuel sent a list of 20 nominees, comprising 18 Commissioners and 2 Special Advisers, to the Akwa ibom state House of Assembly, for appropriate action.

After dissolving cabinet on October 15, 2016, many thought, the governor will send the new list, within one week. Then it didn’t happen. We waited. Then, speculations set in. Rumours of intense lobbying, power play and assumed conflict of interests soon swayed the speculations. Then tension set it.

While the storm of tales, permutations and wild guesses raged, the governor was masterful in his act. Appearing, always unruffled and calm. Governor Emmanuel, never wore the visage of a man under siege. His comments on the reconstitution of his cabinet, were far and in between, as they were measured. There was no doubt, he was in complete control of the ship of state.

On the 25th of November 2016 ironically, the birth date of one of the bright sparks of his administration, the list was unveiled.

On the floor of the House, Mrs Mandu Umoren, Clerk of the assembly, read the list which came as a relieving rapture at plenary.

The shock was palpable. That about 45 percent of the list were fresh names, was a bold statement that, Governor Emmanuel intends to inject new ideas into the machinery of Government and is unafraid of taking risks. He also shocked pundits who indicated, political expediency will take precedence over his selection. His final list trumped all conservative projections and is indeed, progressively revolutionary.

On the slate as commissioners are; Mr Paul Udofia, Mr Ime Okon Ekpo, Dr Nse
Essien, Prof. Eno Ikpe, Mr Idoroenyin
Udo and Mr Linus Nkan.
Others are Mr Uduak Udoinyang, Mr
Charles Udo, Mr Orman Esin, Dr
Iniobong Essien, Dr Dominic Ukpong,
Mr Uwemedimoh Nwoko and Mr Victor

Others on the list of nominees are
Mr Monday Uko, Dr Glory Edet, Mr Udo
Ekpenyong, Mr Akan Okon, and Mr
Ephraim Inyang. The two that made the call as Special Advisers are, Mr Ekong Sampson and Mr Ekemini Umoh.

The House Speaker, Mr Onofiok Luke,
who presided over the sitting, referred
the list to the House Committee on
Judiciary, Justice, Human Rights and
Public Petitions for further legislative

About five of them staged a come-back, while their other illustrious counterparts in the dissolved cabinet were released after glorious performances. The future holds more in store for them as God will.

The new list on scrutiny reveals a careful blend of core professionals, technocrats, scholars and political strategists, to give the administration the needed balance going forward.

For those that made Governor Emmanuel’s list, let’s attempt a brief preface on them.

* Ephraim Inyang – for the Onna born top notch erstwhile Customs Officer, it was a perfect birthday gift. He Studied in University of Ibadan where he graduated with Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry (Second Class Upper Division) and also holds a Masters in Business Administration degree from University of Lagos. He is the founder of Transformation initiative for the Empowerment of Ibom People, TIEP, which mobilized support for Governor Udom Emmanuel’s election. He was the immediate past Works Commissioner, a portfolio he is most likely to retain in the new testament.

*Akan Okon – the Itu born seasoned
financial expert boasts a wide spanning service in the banking sector at Managerial levels.
Among other top flight executive positions, He served as Head, Investment Banking at First Atlantic Bank Plc. Area Manager, Calabar and Uyo at Standard Trust Bank Limited.
Mr Akan Okon was also Head, Treasury and Financial Institution Dept. – First African Trust Bank Limited, after serving as Branch Manager of its Apapa and its Victoria Island branches.
he holds a Masters degree in Business
Management (MBA) in Banking and Finance from the University of Lagos, and a B.SC in Business Administration from UNICAL.

* Uwemedimo Nwoko – hails from Ika. A successful Private Legal Practitioner who studied Law at University of Calabar. He has served as Attorney General and Commissioner for justice, Akwa Ibom State

*Monday Uko – A knight of John Wesley and former Chairman of Obot Akara, and former ALGON Chairman, Akwa ibom chapter. He studied Law in the University of Uyo, and previously served as Commissioner for sports.

*Dr Glory Edet -. She is a two time
Commissioner for Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Welfare in Akwa Ibom state. in 1986, she emerged Best Graduating Student in University of
Uyo Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension and proudly crowned it all as the first female Academic Doctor from Ini Local Government. She has many academic publications to her credit and is a scholar with international clout.

*Victor Antai – A two time chairman of Mbo Local Government Council and former Honourable Commissioner for Local Government /Chieftaincy Affairs. He holds a B. Sc degree in Geography from the University of Port
Harcourt, Rivers State

*Dr. Iniobong Essien – who hails from Ibiono Ibom is a former Honourable Commissioner of the Ministry of Environment and Mineral Resources, He was the Senior Special Assistant (Medical matters) to the immediate past Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Sen Godswill Akpabio. Among other academic qualifications, he graduated from the College of Medical Sciences, University of Calabar, Cross River State,

*Barrister Ekong Sampson (SA) – a former Council chairman and member of AKHA representing Mkpat Enin State Constituency, he was immediate past Commissioner of Rural Development.
He studied Law at the University of Lagos.
*Arc Ime Ekpo – A successful private enterpreneur, he Studied Architecture at University of Ife, Ile-Ife, Nigeria (now Obafemi Awolowo University). He is from Nsit Ubium

* Orman Esin – a former two time Chairman of Oron Local Government Council, will add to the growing number of Oro nation stakeholders playing key roles in the Udom Emmanuel administration. We will dwell more on him in part two of this piece for strategic reasons.

* Linus Nkan – is from Ibesikpo Asuan. He is a professional banker and former staff of Zenith Bank PLC. Mr Nkan Studied at Banking and Finance at university of cross river state(now Uniuyo). He is currently, the State Accountant General.

*Prof. Eno Ikpe- hails from Etinan LGA. She is Professor of History and
International Studies and currently the Dean Faculty of Arts, University of Uyo
She is a scholar of international acclaim with an intimidating resume.

*Dr Dominic Ukpong- a former Commissioner for Health, an ex-
student of St Patrick’s college, Calabar,
graduated with MBBS from the University of Benin; he is a consultant occupational physician with a diploma in Industrial Health from London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. He also holds certificates in Diving
Medicine from the University of Aberdeen and many others. He is an indigene of Eket.

* Hon. Udo Ekpenyong,- a skilled politician and adminsitrator from Ukanafun, he served as former political Adviser to Akwa Ibom State

(To be continued)
In part II we shall complete the induction and examine the list of those who didn’t return. Keep a date.